Hello from the Owner!

Andrew Revering
Site Admin

Hello from the Owner!

Post by Andrew Revering » Mon Jul 04, 2005 10:37 pm

Hey... My name is Andy Revering, and I'm a 29 year old weather-aholic.

'Hi Andy'.

I've been a meteorology student both privately and in educational institutions my whole life. I've been a storm chaser for 13 years (since 1995) and have been a part of several great weather related business ventures.

I started out writing weather software in 1996 with my friend from high school Erik Spieker. We came up with a idea for a piece of software called AlertMe. AlertMe was a big hit in its day, before Weatherbug came around. I was so excited about this application idea. The only problem was that I didn't know how to program! So I taught myself Visual Basic 4. Eventually the program came about after a year of work on it. Now we needed a company name.

I had been using the web site 'aprweather.com' as a personal web site. It wasn't any great corporate thing... it was just my first 3 initials and 'weather'. But it kind of stuck. The web site was very thorough. I had over 600 pages and thousands of hits a day back then. So we decided to call the company APRWeather, with our flagship product, AlertMe.

Well my friend wasn't as in to weather as I was, so I bought him out for a few hundred dollars and I was now a sole proprietor. I changed the company name to Convective Development because it sounded like something that would have a software development ring to it, with a splash of meteorology (if you know what convection is).